Skip to main content

Databases: International History

International History

Armed Conflict Database
Full-text. Subject coverage : International and internal conflicts, as well as terrorism. Provides historical background on armed conflicts  

Empire Online
A powerful and interactive collection of primary source documents about colonialism since the 15th Century, sourced from leading archives around the world.

Francis
Extensive bibliographic indexing for millions of records dating back over 40 years. Multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social sciences.

Historical Abstracts (EbscoHost)
History of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education and much more.

IBSS - International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest)
Produced by the London School of Economics and Political Science, IBSS focuses mainly on the four core social science disciplines - anthropology, economics, politics and sociology.

The Making of the Modern World (Gale)
Digital facsimile images of primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the period 1450-1850 (and 1851-1914 in Part II).

PSI - Praeger Security International Online (password)
Full-text, electronic resource available on international security, including defense and foreign policy, strategy, regional security, military history, and terrorism.

SSRN - Social Science Research Network
An Open Access Repository composed of a number of specialised research networks in each of the social sciences.

US Congressional Documents (HeinOnline) (password)
Full-text. Complete Congressional Record Bound version, as well as the daily version back to 1980. It includes: Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) Congressional Globe (1833-1873), and Congressional Hearings (1927-1994), as well as other important congressional material.

Women and Social Movements - 1840 to Present
A landmark collection of primary materials (women activists writings, personal letters and diaries, conferences proceedings), which shows how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.

Save Time, Ask a Librarian

The Graduate Institute Library's picture
The Graduate Institute Library
Contact:
Mon-Fri 10 am-6 pm
D +41 22 908 58 89