Skip to main content

Graduate Institute Repository

Policies and rules of the Graduate Institute repository

Content Policy

The Graduate Institute repository is an institutional repository. Its purpose is to host and preserve the research produced by the Graduate Institute and its professors.

It contains:

  • Records and full-text files (if available) of the books, book chapters, journal articles, working papers, conference papers written by the Graduate Institute professors and researchers
  • Records and full-text files of the working papers produced by the Graduate Institute departments and research centres
  • Records and full-text files of PhD theses and master theses
  • Records of theses in progress, once the preliminary thesis (MPT, mémoire préliminaire de thèse) is complete

Principal languages of documents: English and French.

Metadata Policy

Access and re-use of metadata for non-profit purpose is free, without prior permission.

Data Policy

  • Some full-text files are open access, accessible to anyone.
  • Some files are in restricted access, and can only be accessed by the Graduate Institute community; they may not be distributed to anyone outside the Graduate Institute.
  • Some files are private, and can not be accessed by anyone.
  • Temporary restriction of access (embargo) may exist for the full-text of some documents.
  • Open-access files can be used for research, educational or not-for-profit purposes without prior permission, provided the authors, title and full metadata are given, an hyperlink and/or URL are given for the original metadata page, and the content is not changed in anyway.
  • Full-text documents must not be sold in any format or medium without formal permission of the copyright holders.

Submission Policy

  • Items may only be deposited by members of the Graduate Institute community.
  • Items will be added to the repository after validation by an authorized person.
  • Full-text files will not be made publicly visible until any embargo period has expired.
  • If the Graduate Institute repository receives proof of copyright violation, access to the file will be restricted immediately.

Preservation Policy

  • Items will be retained indefinitely.
  • The Graduate Institute repository administrators will try to ensure continued accessibility and readability, by migrating items to new file formats if necessary.
  • Authors/depositors are required not to protect their document with a password in order to help the long-term preservation and access.
  • Items will not be removed from the Graduate Institute repository.
  • Metadata may be corrected if necessary.
  • If necessary, an updated version may be deposited.
  • In the event of the closure of the Graduate Institute repository, the database will be transferred to another appropriate archive.