Gender and Development: Databases

Bridge / IDS,  Institute of Development Studies

A specialised gender and development research and information service.

EBSCO EJS
A large collection of academic journals covering various subjects in social sciences.
Contains titles as “Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society”, “Feminist theory” or “Indian Journal of Gender Studies”.

ELDIS - Gender
Eldis is an online information service providing free access to research on international development issues. The purpose of this guide is to provide access to relevant, diverse and credible research on the role of gender equality issues in achieving development goals.

Ingenta Connect
A large collection of academic journals covering various subjects in social sciences.
Contains titles as “Gender and Education”, “Gender, Place and Culture: a Journal of Feminist Geography” or “International Feminist Journal of Politics.”

JSTOR
A large collection of academic journals covering various subjects in social sciences.
Contains titles as “Gender and Development”, “Gender and Society” or “Frontiers: a Journal of Women Studies”

PAIS International
Bibliographic database which covers important political, economic, and social issues.

Persée
Programme de publication électronique de revues scientifiques en sciences humaines et sociales.

PIO – Periodical Index Online
Millions of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.

Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts
Bibliographic database covering areas of women and gender studies (history, law, politics, sociology, education, social policy...)

Global Database on Violence against Women (United Nations)
Types of violence covered are broad in scope including: domestic violence, dowry related violence, forced marriage, genital mutilation, female infanticide, rape, sexual violence and harassment, honour crimes and trafficking in women.

Web of Science
(Includes "Social Sciences Citation Index")
An online academic citation index which is designed for providing access to multiple databases, cross-disciplinary research, and in-depth exploration of specialized subfields within an academic discipline. Moreover, as a citation index, any cited paper will lead to any other literature (book, academic journal, proceedings, etc.) which currently, or in the past, cites this work. In addition, literature which shows the greatest impact in a field, or more than one discipline, can be selectively obtained.

Women and Social Movements, International
Primary documents from women activists in social movements world-wide, from 1840 to the present.

Women’s Studies Online Resources
(Women’s Studies / Women’s Issues Resources Sites)
Provides information-rich, high-quality web sites focusing on women's studies or women's issues; women- or gender-related e-mail lists; women's studies files from the WMST-L File Collection; links to women's studies programs around the world and to the Center for Women and Information Technology; financial aid for women; updates to Internet Resources on Women.