Skip to main content
Banner Image

Citation Manager Software: Home

Presentation of Endnote and Zotero, two widely used citation managers

Introduction to Citation Managers

Citation managers are database managers which allow you to create your own database with the bibliographic references you gather during your research work. Most citation managers make it possible to:

  • download references automatically from library catalogues and bibliographic databases (but some references have to be entered manually anyway);
  • search for references, sort them, eliminate duplicates;
  • create independent bibliographies or insert references in a text while you are writing. You can choose between many different styles, change the style during the writing process, and produce automatically the bibliography at the end of your dissertation. 

Using a citation manager will allow you to save a lot of time, to avoid tedious and uninteresting tasks, to better the quality of your bibliographies, and to concentrate on research and writing.

Zotero Training Sessions - Autumn 2016

The Graduate Institute library organises training sessions on Zotero - No previous knowledge of this programme is required. The next training sessions will take place according to the following schedule:

Zotero workshops:
- Monday, October 3rd, 2,15 p.m.
- Thursday, October 13th, 12.15 p.m.
- Tuesday, October 18th, 12.15 p.m.
- Friday, October 21st, 10.15 a.m.
- Thursday, November 3rd, 2.15 p.m.
- Tuesday, November 15th, 12.15 p.m.

Zotero for lawyers:
- Friday, October 7th, 10.15 a.m.
- Tuesday, November 1st, 12.15 p.m.
- Monday, November 7th, 2.15 p.m.

Registrations for these training sessions will open on September 15th.

For any questions regarding these sessions, and citation managers, please contact Catherine Brendow.

 

Subject Guide

Catherine Brendow
Contact:
D. + 41 22 908 58 64

Some Other Programmes