Adding ReferencesManaging Your ReferencesCreating BibliographiesEndnote Mobile Apps
Adding ReferencesManaging Your ReferencesCreating BibliographiesZotero on Mobile Devices
Adding ReferencesManaging your ReferencesCreating Bibliographies
This is the "Home" page of the "Citation Manager Software" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citation Manager Software  

Presentation of Endnote and Zotero, two widely used citation managers.
Last Updated: Nov 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.graduateinstitute.ch/citation_managers Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Citation Managers Training

The library organizes regularly training sessions on citation managers:

- An Endnote/Zotero presentation

- a Zotero workshop, with exercises

For more information, please contact Catherine Brendow.

 

Citation Managers Presentation

 

Introduction to Citation Managers

Citation managers are database managers which allow you to create your own database with the bibliographic references you gather during your research work. Most citation managers make it possible to:

  • download references automatically from library catalogues and bibliographic databases (but some references have to be entered manually anyway);
  • search for references, sort them, eliminate duplicates;
  • create independent bibliographies or insert references in a text while you are writing. You can choose between many different styles, change the style during the writing process, and produce automatically the bibliography at the end of your dissertation. 

Using a citation manager will allow you to save a lot of time, to avoid tedious and uninteresting tasks, to better the quality of your bibliographies, and to concentrate on research and writing.

 

Which One Should I Choose?

There are many different citation managers. In this guide, we will concentrate on two of them, EndNote, a proprietary programme which is the leader on the market, and Zotero, a free programme with many advantages. Both work on Mac and PC.

The best way to know which one best suits your needs is probably to test them. Zotero can be downloaded free of charge, and there is a 30-day free trial period for EndNote, or, if you are a Graduate Institute student, you can test it on the computers at your disposal on our premises (All Programs -> Databases). If you change your mind, it is always possible to transfer your database (which by the way is called a "library") to another programme.

Here is a small choice of Web pages comparing citation managers:

Contact

Catherine Brendow
Contact Info
T. +41 22 908 58 64
Send Email
 

Follow Us

facebook_22.png  twitter_22.png

Some Other Programmes

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip