Archives & Special Collections

© Geneva Graduate Institute

Collections concerning several arbitration cases are held by the Geneva Graduate Institute. These books and documents, some of which are handwritten or annotated, are classified under the name of the professor:

• Lucius Caflisch
• Philippe Cahier

Professor of International Law at the Graduate Institute of International Studies from 1972 to 2006, Lucius Caflisch (Trin, 31 August 1936- ) served as the Director of the Institute from 1984 to 1990. He also had a career full of various activities as a professor, as the author of numerous doctrinal books, as a judge, as a counsel, as a registrar and as an arbitrator of several arbitral tribunals. In 1991, he became a legal adviser for the Swiss Federal Department of Foreign Affairs and represented Switzerland at several international conventions. He also acted as a judge at the European Court of Human Rights (1998-2006). In 2006, Professor Caflisch was appointed to the Geneva-based International Law Commission of the United Nations.

The fonds concerning several arbitration cases (books, documents, sometimes handwritten) is held by the Geneva Graduate Institute Archives. For each case, archives contain correspondence, verbatim records, documents produced by the parties, dissenting opinions, propositions of judgments, updated versions of awards and some records of debates. Most of these documents are in English and in French. A few documents are in the original language of the parties.

List of Affairs:

• Traité de non-agression, de conciliation, d’arbitrage et de règlement judiciaire (Bogotá, 17 déc.1939)
• Affaire de la délimitation du plateau continental entre le République française et le Royaume-Uni de Grande-Bretagne et d’Irlande du Nord (interprétation de la décision du 30 juin 1977)
• Affaire de la délimitation de la frontière maritime entre la Guinée et la Guinée-Bissau (sentence du 14 février 1985)
• Affaire de la délimitation de la frontière maritime entre la Guinée-Bissau et le Sénégal (sentence du 31 juillet 1989)
• United Nations military observer mission Prevalka (UNMOP)
• Contentieux gréco-turc en mer Egée / The Greco-Turkish dispute over the Aegean Sea
• Affaire de la compétence en matière de pêcherie (Espagne c. Canada)
• Dispute regarding navigational and related rights (Costa Rica v. Nicaragua)

These documents are registered.

Consultation upon request.

Contact: archives@graduateinstitute.ch

Philippe Cahier (Paris, 31 March 1932- Geneva 18 May 2006), professor of International Law at the Graduate Institute of International Studies from 1960 to 1996, was also, during his career, a registrar and a president of arbitral tribunals.

The fonds concerning several arbitration cases (books, documents, sometimes handwritten) is held by the Geneva Graduate Institute Archives. For each case, archives contain correspondence, verbatim records, documents produced by the parties, dissenting opinions, propositions of judgments, updated versions of awards and some records of debates.

Most of these documents are in English and in French. A few documents are in the original language of the parties.

List of affairs:

• Interpretation of the 1946 Air Transport Agreement between France and the United States (1963; 1978)
• Interpretation of the 1948 Air Transport Agreement between Italy and the United States (1965)
• Fisheries agreement between Canada and France (1972) (Filleting within the Gulf of Saint Lawrence River)
• Grands Moulins de Dakar (GMD) v. The Malagasy Republic (1972)
• Beagle Channel Case between Argentina and Chile (1977)
• Boundary dispute between Dubai and Sharjah (1981)
• The Government of the State of Kuwait v. American Independent Oil Company (Aminoil) (1982)
• Hedjaz Railway Line Case (1972)
• International boundary between Egypt and the Former Mandated Territory of Palestine (1987)

These documents are registered.

Consultation upon request.

Contact : archives@graduateinstitute.ch