Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Zotero

Zotero and LaTeX



LaTeX users need to create a .bib BibTeX file for their bibliographic references, which will be included in the same folder as your .tex input file. They will then call the .bib file in the .tex file to include the references.

Here is an example of a reference for an article in a BibTeX file:

@article{lariviere_oligopoly_2015,
    title = {The {Oligopoly} of {Academic} {Publishers} in the {Digital} {Era}},
    volume = {10},
    doi = {10.1371/journal.pone.0127502},
    language = {en},
    number = {6},
    journal = {PLOS ONE},
    author = {Larivière, Vincent and Haustein, Stefanie and Mongeon, Philippe},
    month = jun,
    year = {2015},
    pages = {e0127502},
}

These references can be created manually of course, but they can also be exported from Google Scholar, bibliographic databases... or Zotero.

To create a BibTeX file from Zotero, menu File, Export Library (or right-click on the collection name, Export Collection), and select the BibTeX format. Zotero will automatically create a .bib file, which can be put in the right folder, or uploaded for people using an online LaTeX editor like Overleaf.

All information about the different styles and commands is available here.

Bibliographic Styles

Many bibliographic styles can be used in a LaTeX document. For some of these styles, it is necessary to use a package in a preamble of the document. 

If you want to use an author-date style, that is to say, to have the in-text citations appear like this (Larivière et al., 2015), you need to use the natbib package, by adding \usepackage{natbib} in the preamble of the .tex file. You also need to add the name of the BibTeX file at the end of the document and the name of the bibliographic style you want to use.
\bibliography{references}
\bibliographystyle{plainnat}

With the command \cite, the references will appear in the traditional STEM style, that is to say, citations appear in the text with a simple number inside square brackets.
Using the command \citep{lariviere_oligopoly_2015}, you will get this reference: (Larivière et al., 2015).
Using the command \citet{lariviere_oligopoly_2015}, you will get this: Larivière et al. (2015).
Using \citealt{lariviere_oligopoly_2015}, you will get this: Larivière et al., 2015.

A list of BibTeX styles can be found here.

Better BibTeX for Zotero

Better BibTeX for Zotero is a very convenient extension if you are using Zotero and LaTeX. It offers the following options:
- Generates automatically citation keys for all the references in your Zotero library (and you can decide which type of citation key you want);
- Better Unicode support;
- Drag and drop LaTeX citation to your LaTeX editor;
- Automatic journal abbreviations;
- Keeps automatically your .bib file synchronized with your Zotero library.

To Read