Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Zotero

Standalone Bibliographies

1.Select the documents you want to include in the bibliography (holding down the Ctrl key)
2. Right-click and choose the Create Bibliography function
3. Select a style and save your bibliography in the RTF format (if you want to have it in a text-processing program like Word) or in the HTML format (if you want to publish it on the Web).
 

To create a bibliography from a collection, right-click on the collection icon.

Inserting Citations in a Text

There is an integrated Zotero toolbar in Word, LibreOffice and Google Docs. You can only use this toolbar if Zotero is running.

: opens a search window that allows you to search for citations in your Zotero library, to select the style and insert the citation. For certain styles requiring footnotes, Zotero creates automatically the footnote and inserts the citation inside. You can also add a page number, a prefix or a suffix to a citation.

: creates automatically a bibliography with all the references cited in your text.

: allows you to change the style of your references.

If you do not find the Zotero toolbar, try to go to Preferences, Cite, Word Processors, and install or reinstall the Word or LibreOffice plugin. It solves the problem in 80% of the cases.

The Quick Copy Function

You can easily insert bibliographic references in any text field in your Web browser, such as an e-mail, a Google Docs document, a blog... Just drag and drop the reference, the citation will appear fully formatted in the default style. To set or change your default style, select Options in the Tools menu, then Export and choose the style from the drop-down menu. 

Zotero Styles

12 styles are provided with the program, but thousands of others can be downloaded on the Web site.

Style Preview Pane

Select Preferences in the Edit menu -> Cite, and click on Style Preview

Select a reference, click on Refresh, and you can preview the reference in all the styles available in your Zotero...

For Google Docs or Scrivener Users

RTF/ODF Scan for Zotero is an add-on for Zotero that allows users to insert citation markers into any document saved as .odt (for instance in Google Docs or Scrivener) and then convert them into active Zotero citations. Additional information can be found here.

For Your Wordpress Blog

Zotpress makes it easier to publish bibliographic references on your blog.